People Involved In Phase One

Study Group Participants

The Hampton Roads Community Foundation thanks the following individuals for the time, attention and good ideas they brought to Reinvent Hampton Roads’ four study groups.

We also thank the companies and organizations they represent for allowing them to be part of this effort to diversify and improve our region’s economy.

Study group participants involved in Phase One of Reinvent Hampton Roads were:

Scott Adams, CBRE
David Arias, Swimways Corporation
Bob Armstrong, EVMS
Edna Bahre-Kolovani, Tidewater Community College
Frank Batten, Landmark Media Enterprises

Why I Am Involved

“I am excited about what is happening. The opportunity to use our resources makes sense so we can develop our workforce and leadership for the future.”

Kathy Edwards
An Achievable Dream President
Workforce Development Study Group Member

Bill Bean, The College of William & Mary
Judy Begland, Opportunity Inc.*
Bill Bell, Newport News Shipbuilding
Dan Bell, Future of Hampton Roads
Angela Blackwell-Carter, LEAD Hampton Roads/ Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce
Chris Bonney, Bonney & Company
Joe Bouchard, Cox Communications
Bob Boyd, BB&T
Bruce Bradley, Community Volunteer
Chester Brazzell, LifeNet
John Broderick, Old Dominion University
Don Combs, EVMS
Anne Conner, TowneBank
Ann Kiley Crenshaw, Kaufman & Canoles
Bill Crow, Virginia Ship Repair Association
Charles deCuir, Virginia Offshore Wind Coalition

John Dever, Thomas Nelson Community College
Paul DiNardo, Wall, Einhorn & Chernitzer
Willy Donaldson, Strategic Venture Planning
Kathy Edwards, An Achievable Dream
Jack Ezzell, Zel Technologies LLC
Greg Fairchild, University of Virginia
Larry Filer, Old Dominion University
Robert Fitzgerald, BOSH Global Services
Tom Flake, Peninsula Technology Incubator
Kasia Grzelkowski, VersAbility Resources
Robert Goodman, Kaufman & Canoles
Elliott Gruber, Mariners’ Museum

Dave Harnage, Old Dominion University
Rodger Harvey, Old Dominion University

Russ Held, Virginia Port Authority
Paul Hirschbiel, The Memory Center
Howard Hoege, University of Virginia
Karen Jackson, Virginia Secretary of Technology
Matthew James, Peninsula Council on Workforce Development
Nick Jiannas, Stihl Inc.
Marcus Jones, City of Norfolk
Marty Kaszubowski, General Ideas

David Kaufman, Envest Ventures
Jim Koch, Old Dominion University

Mike Kuhns, Virginia Peninsula Chamber of Commerce/LEAD Peninsula
David Lambert, Newport News Shipbuilding
John Lawson, W.M. Jordan Company
Pete Leddy, OTTO Design

Cathy Lewis, CIVIC Leadership Institute
Ned Lilly, Xtuple
Chuck McPhillips, Kaufman & Canoles
David Mele, Media Solutions
Donna Morris, Hampton Roads Community Foundation (staff)
Matthew Mulherin, Newport News Shipbuilding
John Paris, Williams Mullen
Ed Power, Inside Business/Target Media
Craig Quigley, Hampton Roads Military and Federal Facilities Alliance
Linda Rice, Hampton Roads Community Foundation (staff)
Dave Richards, Concursive
Jim Ricketts, Virginia Beach Convention & Visitors Bureau
Sandeep Samudre, Technisight
Toy Savage, Willcox Savage
John Shifflett, Newport News Shipbuilding
Anne Shumadine, Signature

Carol Simpson, Old Dominion University

Brian Skinner, TowneBank
Doug Smith, City of Virginia Beach
John Sokolowski, Virginia Modeling and Simulation Center
Jim Spore, City of Virginia Beach

Deborah Stearns, Jones Lang LaSalle
Tim Stifler, Tidewater Hotels & Resorts
Michael Taylor, Sentara Healthcare

Bruce Thompson, Gold Key/PHR Hotels & Resorts
Mileta Tomovic, Old Dominion University
Gary Wagner, Old Dominion University
Gary Warren, ivWatch LLC
Bill Wasilenko, Eastern Virginia Medical School
Randy Webb, Signature
Rick West, LEAD Hampton Roads
Rob Whitacre, Legal and Business Advisory Services
Roy Whitney, Jefferson Labs
Peter Zendzian, ZZ Servers

*Recently retired


Hampton Roads Community Foundation Board Members

Jane P. Batten, Community volunteer

Gilbert T. Bland, The Giljoy Group

R. Bruce Bradley, community volunteer retired from Landmark Publishing Group

Macon F. Brock, Dollar Tree Stores

Deborah M. DiCroce, Hampton Roads Community Foundation
Andrew S. Fine, Runnymede Corp.
Paul O. Hirschbiel Jr., The Memory Center
Mary Louis LeHew, community volunteer retired from The Planning Council
Harry T. Lester, Slover Library Foundation

John F. Malbon, PAPCO Inc.

Vincent J. Mastracco Jr., Kaufman & Canoles

Charles W. "Wick" Moorman, Norfolk Southern
Louis F. Ryan, community volunteer retired Landmark Communications Inc.
Jody M. Wagner, Jody's Inc.
John O. "Dubby" Wynne, community volunteer retired Landmark Communications Inc.

Have an Idea? Want to Get Involved?